Archive for August 1st, 2017

Pre-Season Win For 17’s

August 1, 2017

Rangers 4 Morton 0

Rangers 17’s recorded a comfortable win over Morton in a pre-season friendly at Auchenhowie tonight. It was a good mix of first and second year 17’s with numerous second half substitutions.

Rangers took an early lead when the referee rather harshly awarded a free-kick inside the right side of the penalty area for an alleged pass back. Kai Kennedy played the ball to Ciaran Dickson who shot through a crowded box and into the net. Ten minutes later Zac Butterworth was brought down inside the box when he turned back on a defender for a clear penalty that he stepped up to convert.

The visitors threatened just before the half-hour with an attack on the right, a couple of chances to shoot were passed up until it was eventually fired wide of Brian Kinnear’s left hand post. Ten minutes before the break Josh McPake turned a defender inside the right side of the penalty area but shot just wide of the far post.

A couple of minutes later Rangers scored a third, Josh McPake combined with Zac Butterworth  on the right and when the ball came into the box Ciaran Dickson hooked the ball over his shoulder and into the net.

Half-Time:- Rangers 3 Morton 0

Rangers were still having the bulk of possession but the rash of substitutions seemed to affect the number of goalmouth incidents. It was Morton who came closest when their striker got a faint touch on a free-kick from the right but the ball went just wide of the far post. Rangers went straight up the other end to score a forth, Niyah Joseph started the move with a neat piece of play to release Matty Yates on the right and ball across goal was knocked into the net by Owen McGinty.

The final chance came when Owen McGinty switched play to Matty Yates wide on the right and his cross bounced off the top of the crossbar before going behind.

Full-Time:- Rangers 4 Morton 0

Rangers:- Brian Kinnear (Nicky Hogarth HT); Nathan Patterson, Kyle McLelland, Harris O’Connor, Jamie Walker; Murray Miller (Ben Williamson HT); Josh McPake (Ross Young 50 Mins), Ciaran Dickson (Gregor Woods HT); Zac Butterworth (Matty Yates 50 mins), Dapo Mebude (Niyah Joseph HT), Kai Kennedy (Owen McGinty 50 mins).