Win For 16’s

Rangers 2 St.Mirren 0

Rangers under 16’s took on St.Mirren at Murray Park and a Niyah Joseph double was enough to secure a win for the Ibrox youngsters. After an opening twenty minutes where both teams created half chances Rangers took the lead. Kieran McKechnie combined with Nathan Patterson on the left and from the latter’s cross Niyah Joseph headed past the keeper. 

Just after the half hour mark it took a brilliant Jay Mack block to keep Rangers lead intact, Alex McCaw went past Nathan Patterson on the right and when Nicky Hogarth advanced from his goal he played the ball across goal to the unmarked Ross McFarlane, a goal looked inevitable but Jay Mack got back to make the block and clear the danger.A couple of minutes later Lewis McGrattan sent the ball out to Nathan Patterson on the left, Gregor Woods showed great chest control to gather the cross but could only knock the ball over the keeper and over the bar.

Almost immediately Saints attacked down the left through Ross McFarlane and he cut inside before shooting for goal that had Nicky Hogarth stretching to tip over. Five minutes before the break Josh McPake’s free-kick from just outside the right side of the box found Kieran McKechnie’s who’s effort was blocked by keeper David Wilson’s legs.

Half-Time:- Rangers 1 St.Mirren 0

Rangers doubled their lead when Nathan Patterson latched on to a loose ball inside the left side of St.Mirren’s penalty area, Kyle Miller got down to his left to parry the shot but was helpless as Niyah Joseph followed up to knock in the rebound. It was a Nathan Patterson pass that created the next chance, splitting the Saints defence and sending Owen McGinty clear, Kyle Miller advanced from his line and stood tall to make the block.

Full-Time:- Rangers 2 St.Mirren 0

Rangers Squad:- Nicky Hogarth (Gk), Nathan Patterson, Michael Hewitt, Lewis McGrattan, Jamie Walker, Jay Mack, Josh McPake, John Balde, Niyah Joseph, Gregor Woods, Kieran McKechnie, Harris O’Connor, Owen McGinty, Ben Williamson.

St.Mirren Squad:- David Wilson (Gk), Kyle Miller (Gk), Jamie Dodsworth, Kieran Campbell, Ben Cameron, Blair Richardson, Matthew McLevy, Alex McCaw, Ethan Erhahon, Ross McFarlane, Jake Coulter, Finlay Gray, Drew Marshall, Lewis Jamieson, Carter Frew.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: