Archive for January 22nd, 2017

Youth Progress To Semi’s

January 22, 2017

Rangers 5 Falkirk 1

Having been unfortunate to lose the recent Development League game to a Falkirk side that included five over age players Rangers would have gone into today’s Youth Cup Quarter Final at Ibrox with confidence. Despite going behind to a dubious penalty they soon turned the game around and ran our comfortable winners.

Rangers had the better of the early exchanges but it was the visitors who took the lead on nineteen minutes from the penalty spot. Mark Stowe’s shot from the edge of the box struck the left hand of Aidan Wilson inside the box, but the Rangers defender’s arm was by his side and there was no intent so it was a rather harsh decision when the referee pointed to the spot. Robbie McCrorie made a fine save from Kevin O’Hara’s initial shot but was helpless as the striker was quickest to react to net the rebound. Falkirk only held the lead for three minutes, Liam Burt and Billy Gilmour worked a short corner on the left, from the cross Aidan Wilson’s bullet header came back off Lewis McMinn’s right and post and the ball was cleared from the penalty area where it landed at the feet of Jamie Barjonas who’s twenty-five yarder flew into Lewis McMinn’s top right hand corner.

Falkirk replied when Kevin O’Hara broke into the left side of Rangers penalty area to be halted by a superb Ross McCrorie challenge, the ball broke to Mark Stowe who stepped inside a defender before shooting straight at Robbie McCrorie. Within a couple of minutes Rangers were in front, a patient period of passing ended with Josh Jeffries going past Kyle Johnson and getting to the right hand byline, his low cross was cleared to Jamie Barjonas on the edge of the box and his shot found Lewis McMinn’s bottom right hand corner.

Six minutes before the break a superb chipped pass from Billy Gilmour found Zak Rudden inside the right side of the box, he stretched to knock the ball past Lewis McMinn but Cameron Eadie got back to clear for a corner before the ball crossed the line.

Half-Time:- Rangers 2 Falkirk 1

Rangers should have scored a third three minutes into the second half, Lewis McMinn fumbled Josh Jeffries effort from the edge of the box but Liam Burt fired over with the goal at his mercy. The third goal came along eight minutes later from the penalty spot, Liam Burt combined with Josh Jeffries on the right side of the box and when he broke into the area he was hauled back Jason Jarvis. Zak Rudden stepped up to send Lewis McMinn the wrong way from the spot.

With twenty-five minutes remaining Conor Langton crossed from the right to find the unmarked Cameron Eadie who headed weakly at Robbie McCrorie. Rangers broke quickly with the ball played out to Liam Burt on the left, he spotted Billy Gilmour’s run through the middle and the midfielder collected the pass to continue into the box and coolly beat Lewis McMinn.

With the game entering the final quarter-hour a corner from the left was played to Jack Thomson on the angle of the box his superb strike gave Lewis McMinn no chance. The visitor’s kept playing and within a minute they attacked down the right, the ball was played inside to Mark Finlayson who’s shot from the edge of the box was straight at Robbie McCrorie.

Rangers had the final chance in the game when Myles Beerman broke forward from left-back, his run took him past two defenders before feeding Zak Rudden the striker’s shot was parried by Lewis McMinn diving to his left before bouncing over the crossbar.

Full-Time:- Rangers 5 Falkirk 1

Rangers:- Robbie McCrorie; Jordan Houston, Ross McCrorie, Aidan Wilson (Kyle Bradley 67 mins), Myles Beerman; Jack Thomson; Billy Gilmour, Jamie Barjonas; Josh Jeffries (Serge Atakayi 78 mins), Zak Rudden, Liam Burt (Ross Lyon 78 mins).

Not Used:- Kieran Wright (Gk), Max Ashmore, Jordan Gibson, Amin Abardan.

Falkirk:- Lewis McMinn; Mark Finlayson, Jonny Mitchell, Camron Eadie (Marky Munro 87 mins), Kyle Johnson; Conor Langton, Cameron Blues, Reis Peggie (Connor McBride 69 mins), Cieran Dunne (Jason Jarvis HT); Kevin O’Hara, Mark Stowe.

Not Used:- Peter Bery (Gk), Jack Keary, Kieran Sweeney, Graeme Walker.