Opening League Defeat For 20’s

Rangers 0 St.Mirren 1

It was a disappointing game and result in the 20’s opening league game at Forthbank tonight. Chances were at a premium with St.Mirren scoring with their only real effort on goal and Rangers with more of the possession only really worked the goalkeeper injury time.

There was seventeen minutes on the clock when Andy Murdoch played the ball forward and Liam Burt’s flick sent the ball out to Josh Jeffries wide on the right, he cut inside before shooting from the right hand angle of the box but it was straight at Reece Willison who saved comfortably. On the stroke of half-time Kyle Bradley in possession wide on the right passed inside to Ross McCrorie who’s twenty-five yarder from the right side of the penalty area was just wide of the keeper’s right hand post.

Half-Time:- Rangers 0 St.Mirren 0

The visitor’s took the lead twenty minutes after the break, from a free-kick on the edge of Rangers box Jordan Stewart fired a shot over the wall and in to the right hand side of Robbie McCrorie’s net. Rangers showed a bit more urgency after going behind but when it looked likely to break in the box a Saints foot or head was there to clear the danger. 

On seventy-two minutes a Josh Jeffries corner from the right was collected by David Bates on the far side of the penalty area and his cross was headed wide of the near post by Andy Dallas.Rangers closest effort to an equaliser came in injury time, Kyle Bradley sent a long ball down the right that Andy Dallas chased to the byline, his cross found Ross Lyon at the back post who volleyed his shot into the ground and when it bounced up it forced Reece Willison to tip over.

Full-Time:- Rangers 0 St.Mirren 1

Rangers:- Robbie McCrorie,Kyle Bradley, Matt Crooks (Andy Dallas 61 mins), David Bates, Ryan Sinnamon; Ross McCrorie; Josh Jeffries, Andy Murdoch (Max Ashmore 82 mins); Liam Burt (Jamie Barjonas 76 mins), Zak Rudden, Ross Lyon.

Not Used:- Kieran Wright (Gk), Aidan Wilson, Lewis White.

St.Mirren:- Reece Willison; Greig McNaughton, Ben Gordon, Gary McKenzie (Luke Barclay 60 mins), Andy McDonald; Lee Cox; Conor O’Keefe, Kyle Magennis, Darren Whyte, Jordan Stewart, Lewis McClear.

Not Used:- Chris Henry (Gk), Dylan McKendry, Lee Fawkes, Danny Scally.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: