15’s Beat Queen’s Park

Rangers 3 Queen’s Park 0

This week’s youth football fix was Monday night’s under 15 clash against Queen’s Park at Murray Park. After a relatively close first half Rangers took control after the break and ran out comfortable winners.

Rangers came close when Sam Jamieson’s shot was deflected and Liam Burt hooked the ball back across goal from the right hand byline and the Queen’s defender did well to head clear under pressure. Queen’s Park replied when Joe Manderson linked with Lewis McCracken who broke into the box and shot wide of Kieran Wright’s right hand post.

Rangers took the lead just after the midpoint of the half, Grant Nelson crossed from the right and Sam Jamieson’s acrobatic volley came back off the crossbar and the ball was cleared for a corner. From Liam Burt’s flag kick Aidan Wilson rose at the back post to head past Kalvin Graham.

Half-Time:- Rangers 1 Queen’s Park 0

Rangers doubled their lead when Jamie Barjonas passed the ball forward to Liam Burt who attacked the centre of the Queens defence going past two defenders and calmly slotting the ball past Owen Stott. The visitors hit back with Ewan McPherson attacking down the right and when his cross came in Joe Manderson headed wide of Kieran Wright’s left hand post.

Rangers looked certain to score a third when Sam Jamieson attacked the left side of the penalty area before playing a one-two with Liam Burt, the return pass saw him clear inside the box and just when a goal was expected he shot just wide of the far post. Rangers soon made the game save with a third goal, Owen Stott got down to his right to parry Liam Burt’s shot from the edge of the box but he was helpless as Grant Nelson rolled the ball across goal to give Mark Walker a tap in.

Queen’s Park almost got their consolation goal in bizarre circumstances, Kieran Wright’s clearance was blocked by the Queen’s attacker and the ball went over the Rangers keeper and bounced off the crossbar.

Full-Time:- Rangers 3 Queen’s Park 0

Rangers Squad:- Kieran Wright (Gk), Aidan Wilson, Kyle Bradley, Jason Krones, Kieran Laing, Kieran Balfour, Andy Dallas, Jamie Barjonas, Sam Jamieson, Liam Burt, Grant Nelson, Ben Andoh, Sam Rutherford, Lewis Mayo, Mark Walker.

Queen’s Park Squad:- Kalvin Graham (Gk), Owen Stott (Gk), Jordan Pender, Andy Henderson, Darren Robertson, Marcus Connolly, Jonathan Devlin, Connor Higgins, Blair Murray, Calvin McGrory, Ewan McPherson, Adam Stoddart, Liam Brown, Lewis McCracken, Joe Manderson, Paul O’Brien, Anton Richardson.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: