13’s Win At Lennoxtown

Celtic 1 Rangers 2

With the three older age groups games cancelled today, the only option was  the under 13’s game at Lennoxtown this morning. Rangers took the lead after only seven minutes, when the ball was cleared from the Rangers penalty area great play from Grant Nelson saw him go past a Celtic player midway inside his own half and then his superb pass sent Sam Jamieson clear and the Rangers striker carried on into the box to shoot past the keeper.

Ranger were desperately unlucky not to extend their lead on twenty minutes, Lewis Ferguson and Jordan Houston combined on the right and when the later’s cross was headed clear it was controlled by Euan McMillan before he sent a twenty-five yarder crashing off the crossbar with the keeper beaten, Sam Jamieson reacted to head the rebound goalwards with the Celtic keeper diving to his left to parry. When the resultant corner was headed from the box Jordan Houston sent a shot just wide of the keeper’s right hand post.

Just over halfway through the second period Celtic created a chance with a great run down the left and it took a superb Adam Baird challenge to clear for a corner. With the Rangers defence struggling to clear the flag kick the ball was fired goalwards with a Rangers defender clearing from the line.

Five minutes into the third period Rangers grabbed a second with a great move, Euan McMillan made a great challenge inside his own penalty area following a Celtic corner, Jamie Barjonas and Ross Brown then exchanged passes in midfield before the ball was sent out to Kieran Moore on the right, from his pass into the box Sam Jamieson held of a defender before shooting past the keeper.

With ten minutes remaining Celtic grabbed a lifeline, their central midfielder was allowed time and space to break forward before shooting past Kieran Wright from the edge of the box. Neither side were able to create further clear-cut chances and Rangers comfortably held on to their lead to run out worthy winners.

Full-Time:- Celtic 1 Rangers 2

Rangers Squad:- Kieran Wright (Gk), Adam Baird, Euan McMillan, Aiden Wilson, Jason Krones, Liam Burt, Jordan Houston, Lewis Ferguson, Sam Jamieson, Jamie Barjonas, Grant Nelson, Ross Brown, Kieran Moore, Jack Sherrie, Kyle McAllister, Wallace Duffy.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: